Buyer & Cellar ~ An Upscale Basement Adventure

First, I must show my appreciation for the Barrow Street Theatre, a fabulous theatre in the West Village. I had a ticket last week on a very, very snowy night and I was unable to make it in to the city because of train cancellations. I called the next day and explained why I didn’t show up and asked if there were options other than purchasing another ticket. The staff was very kind and offered me a ticket for that evening. I happily accepted. It had stopped snowing, but there was about 12 inches of snow, I believe. It was freezing outside and snow was piled up everywhere. Needless to say it was an interesting trek for this California girl tromping through the snow and ice trying to find a theatre I had never been to on my own. Luckily I didn’t have any spills on the icy streets and thank goodness for phones with gps.

Broadway shows are amazing. However, I cannot say enough about the importance of being open to attending shows, in my case off Broadway, but basically…local community theatre. You might see a rising star or support struggling artists, but in my experience it is usually worth more than the price of admission.

The comedy Buyer & Cellar features Michael Urie of Ugly Betty fame. The show is well written and Urie is hilarious. The unlikely premise is that an unemployed actor, recently fired from the mouse house takes a job in Barbra Streisand’s basement storage mall and she visits, shops and haggles. When the show begins, Urie walks out clutching a Streisand book and sits on the side of the stage and gives a small introduction, which helps draw in the audience.

The show is about an hour and a half without intermission and the time flew by. I found Urie charming and quite funny. Even though the storyline is farfetched, I found myself pondering the possibilities. She is a little eccentric, she probably cannot just pop out to the mall, and people do have basements full of stuff, so…But the show is fiction, hysterical and absolutely worth seeing.

This was my first visit to the Barrow Street Theatre and it was a great experience — what a great intimate space to see shows. I’ll definitely return.

Leave a Reply

