More Than a Traditional Farmers Market

For me, there is no better way to start a Saturday than at my local farmers market. When I was living in London, I was lucky enough to live near the Borough Market, which is an amazing market full of traditional fare, hot food, juices, adult beverages, chocolate and more.

Though my regular market does not do hot food, unless the food truck is there, it’s still a step-up from most markets.

I attend the Charlotte Regional Framers Market (near Tryon @ Yorkmont) operated by the North Carolina Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services. It is my favorite one in the city, and close to my house. The Farmers Market is also open a few days a week part of the year, but also on Saturdays most of the year.

DSC02796

The farmers market is a mix of regular produce – local farms as well as some imports. They sell less expensive non-organics, organics and pesticide-free products. There are stands with pies and other sweets, Nova bakery, salsa and other fresh spreads, wine, and cut flowers. For non-vegetarians there are also cheese, meat, and egg options.

DSC02797

I have a few favorites that I typically buy from – and then whatever else catches my fancy.

DSC02798DSC02799

 

There is one barn for produce that is always open and another open-air area with a roof that is open depending on the weather.

DSC02800

DSC02794DSC02793DSC02795There is a craft barn that is open most of the year on Saturdays — full of hand crafted wood items, crocheted items, clothing, handbags, soaps, oils, candles and more.

DSC02786

Finally, the greenery-shed, which is the other open-air area. This section opens in the spring and is full of plants, trees, shrubs, flowers, and herbs. Practically everything you would find in a garden section of your local hardware store is available for great prices at the farmers market.

Happy shopping!

DSC02792DSC02790

DSC02791

5 thoughts on “More Than a Traditional Farmers Market

  1. Lori..thanks for the great story about the Charlotte Market. I have never been there (can you believe it!) but my friend Amy’s farm, she carries free range poultry and grass fed beef, and now Glutten free baked goods.. is there and at Matthews. I am a regular at our Lincoln County F. M..only on Sat mornings..love it so much and am sooo Thankful they are there for me!!
    Thanks again.

    • Hi Cynthia, I hope you are doing well. My market is probably a little far for you. Good to know you enjoy the experience as much as I do though. I’m sure your market offers similar NC favorites. Say hello to everyone…

Leave a Reply

