North Carolina Mountain Getaway

Since returning from London I am attempting to be less of a homebody, and though I am not traveling as much, I have done more than study this semester.

Pocky and I went to see the musical Come Fly Away choreographed by Twyla Tharp to Frank Sinatra music. It’s a fun show with great dancing. I love Sinatra, especially early Sinatra and this show did not disappoint.

Next up, we went to see Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, one of my favorite companies.  The last time I attended an Ailey production was at least six years ago in San Francisco. The show in Charlotte was amazing. At least great Theatre and Dance comes to Charlotte, music, not so much.

This is the first summer that I have taken off since starting at UNCC.  I plan to refinish furniture, build some, hang art and do other practical things that fall through the cracks while I am in school. I also need to work on my political science thesis that is due in the fall. I also have a few road trips planned…

Last weekend was one of maybe four weekends a year/racing season that Pocky has off or mostly off. We decided to take a day trip in North Carolina so that he could be home to watch the race on Sunday. Saturday morning we drove to the mountains and stopped in Boone first, a cool mountain town with antique shops, old-time hardware stores full of funky artisan finds, great restaurants, and Appalachian State University. We went to Coyote Kitchen for lunch, which I highly recommend. Then we backtracked down the mountain about 10 minutes to Blowing Rock, which is known for it’s hiking and resorts. They also have a main street full of antique, arts, and glass stores full of beautiful items. We went out for a great Italian meal and then wandered over to the Six Pence English Pub and had drinks on the terrace. Every time we passed Kilwin’s Chocolates and Ice Cream, there was a line out the door, even late at night. So, if you like ice cream, truffles and fudge this is probably your kind of place.

We stayed at one of the many Inn’s of the main street in Blowing Rock and our cottage was rustic and roomy. We got up Sunday morning, stopped at Kojay’s Café for coffee and began our trek down the mountain. The drive through the Appalachian Mountains was amazing. I wish we had had more time to explore the mountains. Maybe next time we can hike a little, if my foot holds up.

One thought on “North Carolina Mountain Getaway

  1. Sounds like a wonderful summer. Your are getting so much done around the house and I know that will make it so homey and comfortable for both of you.
    The social activity is wonderful, and your weekend away is awesome. So nice and yet not such a long trip that its tiring. I enjoyed the photos of the area and the cottage you guys stayed in. So relaxing and fun.

Leave a Reply

