Adventure In Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia

From Zadar my cousin, her boyfriend and I traveled to the Plitvice Lakes National Park in Croatia. We hiked for three or four hours around the magnificent landscape on one of the faster trails to complete. We boarded a bus that took us to where the trail began, and just walked and took photos.  It was a fairly warm day and I was glad that I had brought water with me.

As you wander through the forest on dirt and wooden paths wildlife is all around. There are 16 large lakes, and a few smaller ones and many have beautiful waterfalls. As we wandered we also stumbled across waterfalls hidden by the trees. The shades of the water in the lakes were gorgeous bright blue and green, with many animals swimming around, including fish and ducks.

It reminded me of the trip my sister Jennifer and I took to a plantation with a swamp in South Carolina about a year ago. I was not writing the blog at that time, but I am going to repost her blog, because it was another amazing outdoor adventure, and I recommend that people visit, if they get the chance.

Back to the Lakes…they are situated where Kordun meets Lika, in the valley Ogulinsko – Plascanska dolina, on the spring of the Karst River Korana, and on the hillside of Mala Kapela and Pljesivica. It was an amazing afternoon and I was pretty tired once we made it back to the car for the ride back to Zagreb, but also very content.

I spent my last few days in Croatia with my family in Zagreb. I do not think I can properly convey how important my journey to Croatia was to me. We all have defining moments in life, and this was one of mine. I am looking forward to their upcoming visit to the states and I am very excited for my father to finally meet the rest of his family. Well, he has already met my cousin Mia, because she loves to travel and has visited the U.S. many times. But, he has never met her parents.

This marks the end of the blogs on Croatia. Next up, I will finally write about my experiences while studying in London. That was the point of this trip, no? There are more solo travel adventures to come as well vacation time with Pocky. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Adventure In Plitvice Lakes National Park, Croatia

  1. I love walking along with you as you describe the scenes and scenery around you. I am so happy that you have had time with family and gotten to know your roots, in the country of your family’s origin. I can only imagine how wonderful that is. Thank you for sharing with me and others…

    I look forward to your time in London, and the day trips you took along the way. You certainly have taken full advantage of the opportunities that were presented. Love Mom

Leave a Reply

